New York City: Creative Fix

Lincoln Center Fountain

Lincoln Center Fountain

JOE: Good evening Calliope.
CALLIOPE: Good evening Joe. I haven’t heard from you lately. Have you been traveling?
JOE: Very perceptive. I have been in New York this week to spend time with Mike and other creative friends.
CALLIOPE:  What did you learn?
JOE:  Not much factual, although I did bathe in the creative juices flowing through the friends Carol and I spent time with.
CALLIOPE: Any special experiences.
JOE: On Tuesday, Mike got us tickets to La Boheme at the Met. We had been up since 4 am and the tickets were standing room. Our limited endurance caught up with us despite the grandeur of the performance. After the second act we reached our wall. Sitting in the box office waiting for Mike, I met a man.
CALLIOPE: Tell me about him.
JOE: He is writing a book about opera and its place in culture. He seemed quite ordinary and carried bags with him. (His manuscript which he never lets out of his sight.) I realized he planned to listen to the rest of the opera on headphones in the lobby. I had a choice of learning more about his book or 0ffering him my ticket for the last two acts. I chose the latter and felt grateful the rest of the week that I made this choice.
CALLIOPE: Did he appreciate it?
JOE: Most definitely. We will probably never meet again and I will never know how he enjoyed the opera but we both felt good for the opportunity we afforded each other.
CALLIOPE: Good job.
JOE: Thanks. It will keep me going for a while.

Leave a Reply

