Phoenix Revisited

Times Square

Times Square

JOE: Good morning Calliope.
CALLIOPE: Good morning Joe. Glad to talk with you at a civil hour.
JOE: My pleasure. I was up at 3 AM thinking about my writing.
CALLIOPE: Share your thoughts.
JOE: As you know I have been reading furiously about writing technique and also reading a great variety of stories. I have been working on my novel, Marital Property, and continuing with my columns/newsletter.
CALLIOPE: And your discovery?
JOE: Strange you should ask. I have noticed that my novel still shows no signs of coming to life. On the other hand, my nonfiction writing seems to be sharper and brighter. I think it is clear that I should concentrate on nonfiction, at least for the time being.
CALLIOPE: Makes sense. You should concentrate on what you do well. Do you plan to abandon your novel?
JOE: Abandon seems to definite. I will put it aside and work on another project.
CALLIOPE: Such as?
JOE: I had none in mind. By the time I was ready to fall asleep again, I had the germ on of an idea which I embellished a little this morning.
CALLIOPE: Tell me about it?
JOE: I am considering a book on how America got to its current crisis state and where we can go from here.
CALLIOPE: Sounds ambitious.
JOE: It is but I think I am ready for it. I will refine the idea and talk more with you about it.

 

Leave a Reply

