Enlightenment and Inspiration

JOE: Good morning Calliope.
CALLIOPE: Good morning Joe.  Have you been hibernating?
JOE: Not exactly. I have been wrestling with a wicked cold, but feel I am now getting the upper hand.
CALLIOPE: Glad to hear it. Anything creative going on?
JOE:  Yes. Two major turns. I decided to put aside Marital Property since the characters refused to wake up. I thought I might work on a book about what has happened to America. My friend Bob suggested reading Bill Kauffman’s Bye, Bye Miss American Empire. I loved the book and Bob, Bill and I met for lunch.
CALLIOPE:  Is there more to the story?
JOE: There is. Bill asked me about what happened to marital property and what was missing. In the middle of the night I woke up with the answer. I was missing. The story and setting seem fine but the characters have no life because I did n0t insert any of my own life.
CALLIOPE:  Very interesting. What’s next?
JOE: Back to work. I will revisit the characters to see which of my emotions they might share and could borrow from me.
CALLIOPE: Sounds novel.
JOE: It is a novel, and yes it sounds novel.
CALLIOPE: Good luck.
JOE: I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

