On with Marriage Research

Organizing in the sand

Organizing in the sand

JOE: Good evening, Calliope.
CALLIOPE: Good evening, Joe. I didn’t expect to hear from you quite so soon.
JOE: You never know. Yesterday, just as I reached about a third of the way through Norman Mailer’s book, Harlot’s Ghost, the library called. The first seven books on my research list were in.
CALLIOPE: Ambitious!
JOE: I don’t know about that, but I am excited to be immersed in a new project. Carol and I took a friend for a medical appointment and I took along E.J Graff’s book, What is Marriage For? to read in the waiting room. A good choice it turns out. I took the book to the chair when I got back home and spend the rest of the afternoon poring over it.
CALLIOPE: What did you discover?
JOE: That the world seemed to get along fine without marriage for many centuries.  Marriage as we know it today in all its incarnations has undergone constant evolution and change in meaning as well as purpose over the past several centuries in particular.
CALLIOPE: Sounds interesting. Have you found a focus for your book yet?
JOE: Not yet. There are so many aspects of marriage that it is hard to choose. I am thinking that I might try for a synthesis of the many aspects and opinions about marriage.
CALLIOPE: Sounds rather daunting.
JOE: You noticed! Indeed it is. I might need to narrow my focus but I am keeping an open mind. For now it is on with the research.

Leave a Reply

