Cannibals and Kings

St. Louis Cathedral

St. Louis Cathedral in the French Quarter, New Orleans

JOE: Good morning, Calliope.
CALLIOPE: Good morning Joe. We were on a roll. I wondered what became of you.
JOE: Sometimes life creeps up on me. I was very busy with personal and social obligations for a while. Finally life has settled down again.
CALLIOPE: Did you have to put aside your writing research?
JOE: I am happy to say that I did not although I had a little less time for it than at first.
CALLIOPE: How is the research coming?
JOE: I finished reading Sam Harris’s book, The Moral Landscape, a complex and intricate philosophy book delving into archeology and paleontology. My philosophical studies helped me cope with it. Then I moved on to Marvin Harris’s Cannibals and Kings: The Origins of Cultures, also detailed but easier to read.
CALLIOPE: I thought you book was going to be about marriage.
JOE: It is, but I thought an understanding of the development of culture would give me a good contextual background.
CALLIOPE: Is that happening?
JOE: I feel like it is but I guess that will not be obvious until the book is done.
CALLIOPE: Take your time and do a thorough job.
JOE: Advice I have received from others who care about me. And so, onward.

Leave a Reply

