Writer at a standstill

59PV3K0KF8

Joe: Good morning Calliope.

Calliope: Good morning Joe. I have not heard from you for a while. Is everything okay?

Joe: That depends on how you look at it. I have been in good health and feel that I am doing quite well physically. My health has been good and I feel fortunate to be doing as well as I am at age 74.

Calliope: Do I sense a “but?”

Joe: You are quite perceptive. Although I am doing well physically, I feel in turmoil after the political developments over the past couple months.

Calliope: You are not alone. How does it affect you?

Joe: I have found that my writing has ground almost to a standstill. I have made a good start on my latest book, the one on anger but have had trouble formulating any thoughts lately.

Calliope: Why a standstill?

Joe: I am saddened, worried, and discouraged over the direction I see my country taking and see those in power as working to undo what progress has been made for a more livable world, despite their rhetoric about working for the people.

Calliope: What can you do about it.

Joe: I have been writing about my concerns, how to look at myself, others,  and our world in a sane and productive way. I would like to continue in that direction but feel like the voice of one crying in the wilderness to quote a biblical expression.

Calliope: So you don’t feel like your words would be of any significance?

Joe: That’s how I feel.

Calliope: What about all the voices expressing their frustration?

Joe: Frustration is a feeling and by itself does not lead anywhere but to more frustration.

Calliope: Don’t you think that identifying a feeling is the first step toward dealing with it?

Joe: I do think so. As a matter of fact, this is one of the main themes of my book on anger. I guess I need to own my frustration and associated feelings, try to understand and make sense of them and get moving again.

Calliope: Now you are talking. On with it!

Leave a Reply

